Van Buren County

Van Buren County was formed November 1833 from parts of Conway, Independence and Izard counties. The county was named for Martin Van Buren, who was vice president of the United States at that time. Van Buren County was the 29th county of the state of Arkansas. The landscape is rugged and mountainous in the north and rugged to rolling terrain in the south. Clinton is the county seat. The courthouse, with dimensions of only 100 feet x 43 feet, is Arkansas’s smallest courthouse in number of square feet of covered ground. The building was originally constructed under the Federal Emergency Administration of Public Works program but was remodeled in 1973. The county's economic base is small industry, cattle farming and tourism. The beauty of the Ozark Mountain, with its waterfalls, natural bridges, and underground caverns, is unique. The nationally known “Natural Bridge of Arkansas” is 100 feet long, 50 feet high and four feet thick. The bridge was actually used as a roadway once. The Gulf Mountain Wildlife Management Area lures hunters, stream fishermen, nature lovers and campers. The Brock, the Driver Creek, and the Little Red River areas offer hunting and camping. Greers Ferry Lake's 40,000 acres of water offers boating, skiing, swimming, fishing and hunting. The popular Sugar Loaf Mountain is an uninhabited island refuge for plant and animal life. An award-winning hiking trail winds its way from the water’s edge to the mountain summit. Van Buren's population is 15,796 (2020 Census).

273 Main St.
Clinton 72031
(501) 745-2443

County Judge
Dale James
Phone: (501) 745-2443
Fax: (501) 745-6278
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 60, Clinton, 72031

County Clerk
Pam Bradford
Phone: (501) 745-6995
Fax: (501) 745-6976
Address: 1414 Hwy. 65 S., Suite 128, Clinton, 72031

County Circuit Clerk
Debbie Gray
Phone: (501) 745-4140
Fax: (501) 745-7400
Address: 273 Main St., Suite 2, Clinton, 72031

County Sheriff
Eric Koonce
Phone: (501) 745-2112
Fax: (501) 745-4898
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 451, Clinton, 72031

County Treasurer
Mistie Wilson
Phone: (501) 745-2400
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 64, Clinton, 72031

County Collector
Laura Shannon
Phone: (501) 745-8550
Fax: (501) 745-4987
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 359, Clinton, 72031

County Assessor
Emma R. Smiley
Phone: (501) 745-2464
Fax: (501) 745-2499
Address: 1414 Hwy. 65 S., Suite 117, Clinton, 72031

County Coroner
Joe Tsosie
Phone: (501) 745-8217
Fax: (501) 745-3385
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 928, Clinton, 72031

Justices of the Peace
David Holcomb, Nickie Brown, Sarah N. Brown, Mary Philips, Mike Bradford, John Bradford, Becky Page, Virgil Lemings, Ester Bass

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800