Polk County

Polk County was formed on Nov. 30 1844, from part of Sevier County and was named for U.S. President James K. Polk. The county seat is Mena. Long, narrow ridges of folded rock, large fertile valleys and mountains covered with oak and pine trees make up the landscape of the county. Nearly half of Polk County lies in the Ouachita National Forest. The economic base is made up of lumber and wood products, tree farming, cattle and poultry. Some light manufacturing and service industries contribute to the economy. Rich Mountain, the county’s most prominent landmark, has a peak of 2,861 feet. It is one of the tallest mountains in the state. It contains, in a single square mile, more species of wild plants, flowers, and weeds in their Natural State than can be found anywhere else in the world on a similar tract of land. Situated on top of Rich Mountain is Queen Wilhelmina State Park with a lodge and restaurant, campsites and other attractions. A 300-acre lake at the foot of the mountain features excellent bank fishing. Many creeks and rivers are scattered through the county. The Ouachita River is beautiful, but only experienced canoeists need float it. The four-story, stately courthouse building with a large seal of the state of Arkansas over the entrance, stands near the foot of Rich Mountain. The population of Polk County is 19,221 (2020 Census).

507 Church Ave.
Mena 71953

(479) 394-8132

County Judge
Brandon Ellison
Phone: (479) 394-8132
Fax: (479) 394-8135
Address: 507 Church Ave, Box 7, Mena, 71953

County Clerk
Lisa Standridge
Phone: (479) 394-8123
Fax: (479) 394-8115
Address: 507 Church Ave., Box 9, Mena, 71953

County Circuit Clerk
Michelle Heath Schnell
Phone: (479) 394-8100
Fax: (479) 394-8170
Address: 507 Church Ave., Mena, 71953

County Sheriff
Scott Sawyer
Phone: (479) 394-2511
Fax: (479) 394-1975
Address: 507 Church Ave, Mena, 71953

County Treasurer
Tanya Fretz
Phone: (479) 394-8150
Fax: (479) 394-8144
Address: 507 Church Ave., Box 12, Mena, 71953

County Collector
Scott Sawyer
Phone: (479) 394-2511
Fax: (479) 394-1975
Address: 507 Church Ave., Mena, 71953

County Assessor
Jovan Thomas
Phone: (479) 394-8121
Fax: (479) 394-8168
Address: 507 Church Ave., Mena, 71953

County Coroner
Brian Bowser
Phone: (479) 394-4477
Fax: (479) 394-4735
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 4, Mena, 71953

Justices of the Peace
Chris Daniel, Jeremy Jones, Levi Ellison, James Looney, Troy Lunsford, Tommy Floyd, Terry Scott, Mitchell Tidwell, Tawana Gilbert

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800