Marion County

Marion County was created September 25, 1836, from Izard County. First called Searcy County, it was renamed in 1836 in honor of Francis Marion, a Revolutionary War general. Yellville is the county seat. Prior to its occupation by white settlers, this county seat was a Native American village. It is one of the oldest settlements in Arkansas and has been under the flags of Spain, France, the United States, the Confederate States of America, the Territory of Louisiana, the Territory of Missouri, and the Territory and State of Arkansas. The landscape of Marion County is the rugged and mountainous, Ozark Mountains, inhabited for years by bluff-dwelling Native Americans and, later, by European settlers. One-third of the county is under water, which offers many water activities. Part of the Buffalo River runs through the county and features camping, hiking, canoeing, hunting, and fishing. The Lower Buffalo Wilderness Area is the state’s largest wilderness area. Bull Shoals Lake has 19 parks scattered around its 1,000-mile shoreline. The Ozark villages are populated by crafters from spring to late fall. They bring a large number of visitors to this area. The population of Marion County is 16,826 (2020 Census).

Courthouse Square
Yellville 72687

(870) 449-6231

County Judge
Jason Stumph
Phone: (870) 449-6231
Fax: (870) 449-4369
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 545, Yellville, 72687

County Clerk/Circuit Clerk
Dawn Moffet
Phone: (870) 449-6226
Fax: (870) 449-4979
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 385, Yellville, 72687

County Sheriff
Gregg Alexander
Phone: (870) 449-4236
Fax: (870) 449-4869
Address: P.O. Box 366, Yellville, 72687

County Treasurer
Susann Crespino
Phone: (870) 449-6331
Fax: (870) 449-4979
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 321, Yellville, 72687

County Collector
Carla Purdome
Phone: (870) 449-6253
Fax: (870) 449-4979
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 590, Yellville, 72687

County Assessor
Tonya Eppes
Phone: (870) 449-4113
Fax: (870) 449-2402
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 532, Yellville, 72687

County Coroner
James H. Collins
Phone: (870) 736-3470
Fax: (870) 736-3470
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 525, Yellville, 72687

Justices of the Peace
Russell Luder, Marty Nickels, Talon Vancuren, Rick White, Dr. John Reed, Rolin Hutching, Wesley Shipman, Claudia Brigham, Miles Wellein

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800