Little River County

Little River County celebrated its 150th birthday in March 2017. The county was formed on March 5, 1867, and was named for the river forming its northern and eastern boundaries. Ashdown is the county seat. The landscape of Little River County is rolling, pine-covered hills. The economy of the county is primarily made up of timberland that has a large variety of hardwoods and rapid- growth pine timber. Agricultural activities include ranching, pecans, soybeans, peanuts, and rice. Millwood Dam located on the Little River was originally built for flood control. The average depth of the lake is eight feet, with 20,000 acres of submerged timber that brings bass fishermen from far and near. This area is home to the bald eagle and mallard ducks and also provides habitat for the American alligator. Recreational facilities for camping, swimming, and picnicking are very poplar. Rich history abounds. The Will Reed Farmhouse, a restored pioneer cabin at Alleene gives visitors a glimpse of how early settlers lived. Cerrogordo (big hill) was an Indian trading post and stop on the trail west. Spaniards mining salt deposits in the 1700’s gave it the name. The county courthouse, with its octagonal dome rising above the two-story red brick building, houses lots of history. The courthouse is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The population of Little River County is 12,026 (2020 Census).

351 N. Second
Ashdown 71822

(870) 898-7202

County Judge
Larry Cowling
Phone: (870) 898-7202
Fax: (870) 898-4537
Address: 351 N. Second St., Ste. 4, Ashdown, 71822

County Clerk
Deanna Sivley
Phone: (870) 898-7210
Fax: (870) 898-2860
Address: 351 N. Second St., Ashdown, 71822

County Circuit Clerk
Lauren Abney
Phone: (870) 898-7212
Fax: (870) 898-5783
Address: 351 N. Second St., Ste. 5, Ashdown, 71822

County Sheriff
Bobby Walraven
Phone: (870) 898-5115
Fax: (870) 898-7260
Address: 351 N. Second St., Ste. 2, Ashdown, 71822

County Treasurer
Dayna Guthrie
Phone: (870) 898-7215
Fax: (870) 898-7241
Address: 351 N. Second St., Ste. 1, Ashdown, 71822

County Collector
Bobby Walraven
Phone: (870) 898-7217
Fax: (870) 898-7241
Address: 351 N. Second St., Ste. 2, Ashdown, 71822

County Assessor
Allie Rosenbaum
Phone: (870) 898-7204
Fax: (870) 898-7207
Address: 351 N. 2nd St., Suite 3, Ashdown, 71822

County Coroner
Chas Davis
Phone: (870) 888-1023
Fax:(870) 898-4767
Address: 351 N. 3rd St., Ashdown, 71822

Justices of the Peace
Andrea Billingsley, Lisa Hearn, Keith Pullen, Mark Ardwin, Tyler Davis, John Bowman, Charles Henderson, Suzanne Ward, Larry Phillips

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800