Dallas County

Dallas County was formed January 1, 1845, from Bradley and Clark counties and named in honor of George M. Dallas, who had been elected vice president of the United States in 1844. Dallas County is known for its rolling hills and pine forests. The world’s first southern pine plywood plant was built in Fordyce, and timber resources still drive its economy. Georgia-Pacific Corp. is the county’s largest employer. Tri-County Lake, where Dallas, Calhoun, and Cleveland counties meet, offers water recreation activities. The Ouachita River, the longest and largest river in the Ouachita Mountain region, forms the western county line and provides floating and fishing. The Cotton Belt route through the town of Fordyce, the county seat, brought prosperity when it arrived in Dallas County in 1882. Fordyce is Arkansas’ only single county seat to have been moved from a central location when the railroads bypassed its original site of Princeton. In April of each year, the week-long “Fordyce on the Cotton Belt Festival” is held. Its draws many locals, as well as tourists.

206 W. Third St.
Fordyce 71742

(870) 352-3371

County Judge
Jimmy Jones
Phone: (870) 352-3371
Fax: (870) 352-5656

County Clerk/Circuit Clerk
Pam Barnes
Phone: (870) 352-2307
Fax: (870) 352-7179

County Sheriff
Stan McGahee
Phone: (870) 352-8582
Fax: (870) 352-3700

County Treasurer
Leslie Nutt
Phone: (870) 352-2333
Fax: (870) 352-2790

County Collector
Brenda Williams
Phone: (870) 352-5181
Fax: (870) 352-7457

County Assessor
Vanessa Pierce
Phone: (870) 352-7983
Fax: (870) 352-7259

County Coroner
Kevin Kaufman
Phone: (870) 352-3131
Fax: (870) 352-5811

Justices of the Peace
Wendell Lee, Florence Moore, Edith Totty, John B. Meador, Clark Brent, Walter L. Hawkins Jr., Darrell Ray, Paul Williams, Rose Mary Fite

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800

Guardian Pro RFID and AAC Risk Management Fund mitigate risks for Arkansas jails