Poinsett County

Poinsett County was formed on February 28, 1838, from parts of Greene and St. Francis counties. The county was named for Joel Roberts Poinsett — a diplomat, statesman and competent amateur botanist. The county seat is Harrisburg. The landscape of the county is rich, flat, delta farmland in the east and west and rolling hills in the center of the county. Crowley’s Ridge splits the county. East of the ridge is cotton and soybeans, and west of the ridge is rice. Along the ridge are beef and dairy cattle. The economic base of the county is agriculture. The St. Francis Sunken Lands Wildlife Management Area features hunting on sunken lands that were created by the New Madrid earthquakes of 1811 and 1812, that sank the land between 15 to 20 feet in places, destroying the St. Francis River’s channel and creating the St. Francis swamps and the Sunken Lands. After the earthquakes, the federal government instituted its first “Disaster Relief Fund” by issuing New Madrid Certificates entitling displaced landowners to new acreage in the Louisiana Purchase Territory. Lake Poinsett, Lake Poinsett State Park, Lake Hogue, and Bayou Deview Wildlife Management area all offer fishing, hunting and other water activities. A unique feature of Poinsett County is the sight of one river running under another. The Riverdale Tunnel carries the Buffalo Ditch under the water of the left-hand chute, a branch of the river. The courthouse building is constructed mainly of Bedford stone, although the large columns on the east and west entrances, as well as the other columns and accents, are sandstone. The courtyard is enclosed by evergreen privet shrub. The tower clock has four faces, and the tower-arches and brass trim accents the red tile roof. The date of construction in Roman numerals is inscribed over both entries: MCMXVIII. The population of Poinsett County is 22,965 (2020 Census).

401 Market St.
Harrisburg 72432

(870) 578-5333

County Judge
J.C Carter
Phone: (870) 578-0600
Fax: (870) 578-4401
Address: 401 Market St., Harrisburg, 72432

County Clerk
Teresa Rouse
Phone: (870) 578-4412
Fax: (870) 578-2441
Address: 401 Market St., Harrisburg, 72432

County Circuit Clerk
Misty Russell
Phone: (870) 578-4420
Fax: (870) 578-4427
Address: 401 Market St., Harrisburg, 72432

County Sheriff
Kevin Molder
Phone: (870) 578-5411
Fax: (870) 578-4417
Address: 1500 Justice Dr., Harrisburg, 72432

County Treasurer
Tammie Stanford
Phone: (870) 578-4405
Fax: (870) 578-4408
Address: 401 Market St., Harrisburg, 72432

County Collector
Kevin Molder
Phone: (870) 578-4415
Fax: (870) 578-4407
Address: 401 Market St., Harrisburg, 72432

County Assessor
Josh Bradley
Phone: (870) 578-0620
Fax: (870) 578-4429
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 543, Harrisburg, 72432

County Coroner
Butch Davis
Phone: (870) 919-0996
Fax: (870) 578-4123
Address: 302 S. Main St., Harrisburg, 72432

Justices of the Peace
Randy L. Jones, Elizabeth T. Schwarz, Laura Molder, Ronald Martin, James Baker Sr., Larry Fowler, Donnie Taylor, Jordan Looney, Jerry Carter, Steve Jernigan, Linda Hinton

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800