Perry County

Perry County was formed in December 1840, from the part of Conway County south of the Arkansas River. It was named for Oliver Perry, a hero of the War of 1812. The landscape of Perry County is rolling foothills of the Ouachita Mountains. Close to half of Perry County is in the Ouachita National Forest, with timber being the principal economy. Cattle, hog and poultry production, rice, soybeans, and small manufacturing make up the economy. The Heifer Project International Learning and Livestock Center is a privately financed, nonprofit group located on 1,200 acres in the county. It has for more than 70 years, continuously provided livestock and training to low-income farmers in developing areas who, in turn, can pass on their newly acquired skills and the livestock offspring to other families in need. Many residents of the county commute to surrounding counties for employment. Harris Brake Wildlife Management Area is the smallest in the system and is crowded during duck season. Lake Nimrod, which is lined with pine and hardwood, is situated between the Ouachita and Ozark Mountains and is well known for its water skiing, hunting, and fishing. Harris Brake Lake is popular with anglers and Fourche LaFave River has large catfish. The eastern boundary of the county follows the Arkansas River for several miles. The county courthouse is at Perryville, the county seat. Individuals contributed much of the cost of the courthouse. The original red bricks, now painted white, were made from Perry County clay. The courthouse is on the National Register of Historic Places. The population of Perry County is 10,019 (2020 Census).

310 W. Main St.
Perryville 72126

(501) 889-5128

County Judge
Larry Blackmon
Phone: (501) 889-5128
Fax: (501) 889-2574
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 358, Perryville, 72126

County Clerk/Circuit Clerk
Renee Rainey
Phone: (501) 889-5126
Fax: (501) 889-5759
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 358, Perryville, 72126

County Sheriff
Ricky Don Jones
Phone: (501) 889-3309
Fax: (501) 889-5711
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 146, Perryville, 72126

County Treasurer
Jessica Spinks
Phone: (501) 889-2710
Fax: (501) 889-2574
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 405, Perryville, 72126

County Collector
Ricky Don Jones
Phone: (501) 889-5285
Fax: (501) 889-5807
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 146, Perryville, 72126

County Assessor
Amanda Hawkins
Phone: (501) 889-2865
Fax: (501) 889-5974
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 6, Perryville, 72126

County Coroner
Wes Harris
Phone: (501) 889-3310
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 65, Perryville, 72126

Justices of the Peace
Travis Bentley, Dale Payne, Ronnie Lee, Shane Treadway, Edward Evans, Charlie Clements, David “Butch” Hoyt, Benjamin Lee, Scott Skinkle

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800