Howard County

Howard County was formed in 1873 from parts of Hempstead, Sevier, Polk and Pike counties. Center Point was the county seat. In 1905, the county seat was moved to Nashville. The Arkansas & Louisiana Railroad ran from Hope to Nashville. The present-day courthouse was built in 1938. Howard County is made up of 384,000 acres — or about 600 sq. miles. There are approximately 800 miles of roads in Howard County. The total population of Howard County is 13,789 (2010 census). Farming was the main source of income, with the major crops being cotton, corn, peaches and cattle. Now, Howard County has several large industries.

421 N. Main St.
Nashville 71852

(870) 845-7500

County Judge
Kevin Smith
Phone: (870) 845-7501
Fax: (870) 845-7505

County Clerk
Keri Teague
Phone: (870) 845-7502
Fax: (870) 845-7505

County Circuit Clerk
Angie Lewis
Phone: (870) 845-7506
Fax: (870) 845-7505

County Sheriff
Bryan McJunkins
Phone: (870) 845-2626
Fax: (870) 845-7542

County Treasurer
Sheri Mixon
Phone: (870) 845-7504
Fax: (870) 845-7505

County Collector
Bryan McJunkins
Phone: (870) 845-7508
Fax: (870) 845-7505

County Assessor
Debbie Teague
Phone: (870) 845-7511
Fax: (870) 845-1986

County Coroner
John Gray
Phone: (870) 451-0400
Fax: (870) 451-0500

Justices of the Peace
Kerry Stasner, Dick Wakefield, Janice Huffman, Jerry Harwell, Brent Pinkerton, Martha Hobbs, Kirk A. Bell, Bobby Don Turner, Wesley Howard

Rainwater, Hold & Sexton Injury Lawyers 800-434-4800

Guardian Pro RFID and AAC Risk Management Fund mitigate risks for Arkansas jails