Ouachita County

Ouachita County was formed in November 1842, from part of Union County and named for the river running through it. In the Choctaw language, the words “owa” and “chita” mean “big hunt.” From that came Ouachita. It was the river that enticed a French trapper to establish a trading post that would become Camden, the county seat. Once heavy steamboat traffic linked Camden directly to New Orleans and other important cities. The county’s economy is about half-timber and half manufacturing with some tourism. The landscape of the county is rolling hills, largely forested. Outdoor recreation abounds with hunting, fishing and water sports. The Ouachita County Courthouse has the cornerstone from the 1889 courthouse in the base for a planter in front of the entrance to the present building. The cornerstone refers to the original edifice as “this temple of justice.” Also on the lawn is a statue of a woman carrying a flag, erected as a monument to Confederate women, and a Spanish-American War marker.

145 Jefferson Street
Camden 71701


County Officials   Phone   Fax   E-Mail
County Judge   Robbie McAdoo   (870) 837-2210   (870) 837-2242   judge2@cablelynx.com
County Clerk   Britt Williford   (870) 837-2220   (870) 837-2217   coclerk@cablelynx.com
Circuit Clerk   Betty Wilson   (870) 837-2230   (870) 837-2252  
County Sheriff   David Norwood   (870) 231-5300     ocsosheriff@cablelynx.com
County Collector   David Norwood   (870) 837-2260   (870) 837-2215   collector@cablelynx.com
County Treasurer   Melinda Chambers   (870) 837-2250   (870) 837-2251   ouachitatreas@cablelynx.com
County Assessor   Debbie Lambert   (870) 837-2240   (870) 837-2242   lambertassessor@yahoo.com
County Coroner   Sylvester Smith, Jr.   (870) 836-2108   (870) 837-2242  
Justice of the Peace   Harry Brown      
Justice of the Peace   Raymond Furlow      
Justice of the Peace   Doris Grissom      
Justice of the Peace   Fred Lilly      
Justice of the Peace   James Manley      
Justice of the Peace   Addie Moore-Edwards      
Justice of the Peace   Ware Russell      
Justice of the Peace   Dennis Truelove      
Justice of the Peace   Dale Vaughan      
Justice of the Peace   Jerry West      
Justice of the Peace   Charlotte Young