Montgomery County

Montgomery County, formed on December 9, 1842, was named for Gen. Richard Montgomery, a hero of the American Revolution. The county was once the hunting grounds of the Caddo Indians. The county seat is Mount Ida. Landscape of the county is long, narrow ridges of folded rock, large fertile valleys, and mountains (Ouachita) covered with oak and pine timber. Montgomery County’s natural resources and its rugged beauty are its livelihood. Sixty-three percent of the county is national forest land with the federal government being a stable employer. Cattle, swine and poultry production, along with mining and tourism makes up the economy. The Ouachita Mountain range of Arkansas is one of only three known areas in the world to have enough high quality quartz crystal to warrant mining. In 1987, more than two million tons of quartz was mined in Montgomery County for uses ranging from decorative items to computer chips. Each year Montgomery County has an annual Quartz Crystal Festival and Crystal Dig. Many Tourists come to dig quartz crystal. The scenic beauty and recreation draw visitors from far and near. Lake Ouachita, Arkansas’ largest covers so many acres the county had to have a lake patrol in addition to its regular sheriff’s and forest patrol. Thousands visit the park areas each year to enjoy the clear water, fishing and many other water sports. The Ouachita River, the Caddo River and the Little Missouri River all flow through the county. The Missouri River drops an average of 35 feet per mile in its 29-mile journey through southern Montgomery County. The Montgomery County Courthouse houses early history of the county. It is made of native stone and is now listed on the National Register of Historical Places. Montgomery County is within easy driving distance of metropolitan areas offering shopping, restaurants and other services.

105 Highway 270 East
Mount Ida 71957


County Officials   Phone   Fax   E-Mail
County Judge   Sammy Jones   (870) 867-3114   (870) 867-4354
County Clerk   Debbie Baxter   (870) 867-3521   (870) 867-2177
Circuit Clerk   Debbie Baxter   (870) 867-3521   (870) 867-2177
County Sheriff   David E. White   (870) 867-3151   (870) 867-6232
County Collector   David E. White   (870) 867-3155   (870) 867-3484
County Treasurer   Betty Boling   (870) 867-3411   (870) 867-4958
County Assessor   Tammy McCarter   (870) 867-3271   (870) 867-3485
County Coroner   Elece M. Parliment   (870) 867-2001   (870) 867-4384  
Justice of the Peace   Terry Black      
Justice of the Peace   William Tims Edwards      
Justice of the Peace   Kenn Green      
Justice of the Peace   Linda E. Jester      
Justice of the Peace   Dan McCarter      
Justice of the Peace   Floyd McKinzie      
Justice of the Peace   Melissa Powell      
Justice of the Peace   Johnette Rowland      
Justice of the Peace   Barry Spivey