Johnson County

Johnson County was formed in November 1833, from Pope County and was named for Benjamin Johnson, one of Arkansas’ early jurists. Clarksville is the county seat, which was the location for the state’s first school for deaf children in 1851, the same site of today’s University of the Ozarks. The landscape is rugged terrain in the northern half and rolling farmlands, forested ridges, isolated mountains, and lakes in the southern half. The entire northern half of Johnson County is Ozark National Forest that has two wildlife management areas. Little and Big Piney Creeks in the northeast corner and White Rock in the northwest offers hunting, fishing, canoeing, hiking and camping. The southern half of the county is river valley farm country where peaches, cattle, vegetables, soybeans, and grains are grown. Diversified industry is scattered over the county. Johnson County has an annual Peach Festival that started back in 1936, that attracts visitors from all over the country. Johnson County with its Mountains, Rivers and Forest provide scenic beauty for every season.

215 West Main Street
Clarksville 72830


County Officials   Phone   Fax   E-Mail
County Judge   Herman H. Houston   (479) 754-2175   (479) 754-6098
County Clerk   Michelle Frost   (479) 754-3967   (479) 754-2286
Circuit Clerk   Alicia Nowotny Stewart   (479) 754-2977   (479) 754-4235  
County Sheriff   Larry Jones   (479) 754-7724   (479) 754-2210  
County Collector   Leta Willis   (479) 754-3371   (479) 754-4730
County Treasurer   Leta Willis   (479) 754-3056   (479) 754-4730
County Assessor   Jill S. Tate   (479) 754-3863/8839   (479) 754-5705
County Coroner   Pam Cogan      
Justice of the Peace   David Chronister      
Justice of the Peace   Larry Holben      
Justice of the Peace   Mike Jacobs      
Justice of the Peace   Ken Medeiros      
Justice of the Peace   Steve Morgan      
Justice of the Peace   Harold Parker      
Justice of the Peace   John Payne      
Justice of the Peace   Larry Plugge      
Justice of the Peace   Gene Raible      
Justice of the Peace   Bertha "Bert" Wage      
Justice of the Peace   David Wyles