Craighead County

Craighead County was formed February 19, 1859, from parts of Greene, Mississippi and Poinsett counties and was named from Thomas H. Craighead, who represented Mississippi and Crittenden counties in the state legislature. Craighead County has two county seats, Jonesboro and Lake City. The landscape of Craighead County is flat, fertile farmland with rolling hills with Crowley’s Ridge in the center. The courthouse in Jonesboro stands on the site of a skirmish between two companies of Confederates and a detachment of a federal regiment during the Battle of Jonesboro in August 1863. The statue of a doughboy on the courthouse lawn is the first monument erected in the South to soldiers and sailors of World War I. Another marker recognizes a county resident, Hattie Caraway, who was the first woman elected to the United States Senate, the first woman to preside over the Senate, and the first woman chairman of a Senate committee. The Lake City courthouse offices have been moved to a more modern and convenient location; however, the original courthouse building still stands. It is an all-wood; two storied with three small one-story brick wings that were added in 1934 when the companion county courthouse in Jonesboro was remodeled. A bandstand from which many political speeches have been made stands in the courtyard. Arkansas State University, which continues to grow and is the county’s largest employer, is located in Jonesboro. The Convocation Center located on the campus is used for sports, concerts, live theatre, conferences and other attractions. In historic downtown, Jonesboro’s civic auditorium, a renovated movie theatre built in 1926, provides a facility for concerts, Broadway shows, nationally known speakers, and community theatre productions. Citizens in Craighead County revel in its status as the “Capital City of Northeast Arkansas” with a Main Street Jonesboro celebration in May of each year, which brings hundreds of people into the county.

511 S. Main Street
Jonesboro 72401
107 Cobean Blvd.
Lake City 72437


County Officials   Phone   Fax   E-Mail
County Judge   Ed Hill   (870) 933-4500   (870) 933-4504
County Clerk   Kade Holliday   (870) 933-4520   (870) 933-4514
Circuit Clerk   Candace Edwards   (870) 933-4530   (870) 933-4534
County Sheriff   Marty Boyd   (870) 933-4550   (870) 933-4595
County Collector   Marsha Phillips   (870) 933-4560   (870) 933-4519
County Treasurer   Terry McNatt   (870) 933-4540   (870) 933-4533
County Assessor   Hannah Holloway-Towell   (870) 933-4570   (870) 933-4516  
County Coroner   Toby Emerson   (870) 932-9639   (870) 931-4255  
Justice of the Peace   Fred Bowers      
Justice of the Peace   Jim Bryant      
Justice of the Peace   Steve Cline      
Justice of the Peace   Terry Couch      
Justice of the Peace   Billie Sue Hoggard      
Justice of the Peace   Ray Kidd      
Justice of the Peace   Josh Longmire      
Justice of the Peace   Gary Meadows      
Justice of the Peace   Max Render      
Justice of the Peace   Richard Rogers      
Justice of the Peace   Ken Stacks      
Justice of the Peace   David Tennison      
Justice of the Peace   Barbara Weinstock